In addition to federal trucking regulations, does Georgia have any state regulations regarding trucks?
On a national level, commercial truckers must be at least 21 years of age. This pertains only to trucks which go through multiple states on their routes, and do interstate deliveries.
But according to Georgia trucking laws, in order to operate a commercial vehicle within Georgia, a driver may be just 18 years of age, as long as the individual has an instruction permit or Georgia commercial vehicle license. To comply with Georgia trucking laws, the individual may not leave the state on delivery routes.
Regardless of the age of the commercial truck drivers, Georgia trucking laws take into account the degree of care that truck drivers should show to other motorists.
If you've been injured in a Georgia truck accident where the truck driver was careless, you may be able to file a Georgia personal injury claim on the grounds of negligence. If you have questions, you should consider speaking with an Atlanta truck accident attorney who can determine what state or federal trucking regulations may apply to your case, determine the liable parties, and explain the strengths and weaknesses of your potential Georgia personal injury claim.
Contacting an Atlanta Truck Accident Attorney
If you are the victim of someone else's negligence or carelessness in a Georgia truck accident you have certain rights guaranteed by law. To help you understand these rights and seek the compensation you may be eligible for to help get your life back in order, contact the Atlanta Law Offices of Sheryl L. Burke for a no-cost consultation on your injury case.