Georgia Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Car Accident: Seeking Punitive Damages (Part A)
Although driving under the influence is a criminal offense, you can seek compensation by filing a civil lawsuit under the guidance of an Atlanta personal injury lawyer. Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may be able to collect punitive damages as well as rewards for your medical expenses, lost wages and pain and suffering.
Criminal Penalties for Driving Under the Influence in Georgia
The criminal penalties for a negligent driver in a Georgia DUI car accident include first Georgia DUI offense which is a minimum of 10 days and a maximum of 1 year in jail, fines ranging from $300 to $1,000, suspension of driver's license for up to a year, a minimum of 40 hours of community service, and a fee of $210 for license reinstatement.
The second Georgia DUI offense is a minimum of 90 days to a maximum of 1 year in jail, fines ranging from $600 to $1,000, suspension of license for 3 years, a minimum of 30 days of community service, a fee of $210 for license reinstatement, an ignition interlock device if the court approves, and the completion of a treatment program or an evaluation.
These criminal penalties are harsh because the goal is to deter the negligent behavior of drunk driving. Punitive damages, which we'll discuss on the next page, are also harsh, the purpose being to punish the negligent driver. To discuss punitive damages and any other compensation that you may seek, contact an Atlanta personal injury lawyer.
Continue to Next Page >>