If you've suffered serious injuries or lost a loved one, an Atlanta injury lawyer can help answer your questions on how to win your personal injury claim in a Georgia personal injury court!

After an accident resulting in serious or fatal injuries you and your family may have questions about what to do next. Do I have to take my claim to personal injury court? Should I give a recorded statement to the insurance company? How much money is in a fair settlement? Who can give qualified advice on how to win your personal injury claim? For answers to these questions and more, an Atlanta injury lawyer can help.

At S. Burke Law we are here to help give answers to these important questions. Our Frequently Asked Question database covers the common questions you may have regarding what to do after a serious accident, how to file a claim in personal injury court, and tips on how to win your personal injury claim. When researching information on the legal process following a serious accident you want legitimate advice from a source you can trust.

When you’ve suffered serious losses and damages from an accident due to the negligence of another you aren’t alone. An Atlanta injury lawyer from our office is always available to answer additional questions not addressed on our page. Contact us for a FREE consultation and get the answers you need to seek compensation for your losses!
  • Page 1
  • In Georgia, what are the minimum car insurance requirements?

    All drivers in Georgia are required to carry car insurance. Minimum car insurance requirements in the state of Georgia are 25/50/25. These numbers refer to the liability limits for bodily injury and property damage.

    Bodily Injury Liability Requirements

    In the event of a car accident, this type of insurance is meant to protect your assets from potential lawsuits. The monies listed represent the maximum amount of compensation that may be paid to another driver and passengers involved in the accident.

    Insurance minimums for bodily injury liability mean there is a $25,000 maximum allowance for each person injured with a $50,000 maximum allowance per accident.

    Therefore, if you are responsible for a car accident, each of the people injured may be compensated up to $25,000; however, only up to $50,000 would be allowable for the total payout of the accident. 

    Minimum insurance requirements may be a problem for at-fault drivers. For example, if compensation for the injured parties exceeds the $50,000 limit, you may be wondering: how will the excess amount be paid? An at-fault driver may be sued by the injured parties for the remaining monies.

    Property Damage Liability Requirements

    The last number refers to the total amount that can be paid to repair and replace the other driver’s car or property. In Georgia, car insurance requirements for property damage are $25,000 per accident. Again, drivers need to consider how much this allowance will actually cover and what they will do if the total amount is over this minimum.

    Contacting an Attorney When You’ve Been Injured

    If you are the victim of another driver’s negligence, you have a right to just compensation, which may exceed the Georgia minimums. To help you understand your rights, first read our free eBook: Buying Car Insurance in Georgia: An Insider’s Guide to Getting Maximum Protection, then contact the Atlanta Law Offices of Sheryl L. Burke for a no-cost consultation at 404-842-7838.

  • Will my insurance card be enough for me to prove car insurance coverage in Georgia?

    The state of Georgia does not consider an insurance card to be acceptable proof of auto insurance coverage. Because these cards can be copied, falsified or transferred between vehicles, Georgia uses an electronic verification system known as GEICS or Georgia Electronic Insurance Compliance System. 

    If you are involved in an accident or a routine traffic stop, a police officer or other government worker can check the status of your insurance using this system. It is illegal to operate a vehicle without insurance, and if you are caught doing so, you may face fines and/or other legal action, including impoundment and registration suspension. Approximately 13 percent of all U.S. drivers do not carry auto insurance, while 14% to 15% of Georgians break the law by driving without coverage, according to the Insurance Research Council.

    If you are injured in an accident with a driver who does not have auto insurance, you may have to pay for medical expenses and car repair bills yourself. If you have opted for uninsured/underinsured motorist (UM) coverage, however, you could be protected. Talk to your insurance provider about adding this type of coverage to your existing policy. It can usually be done quickly and for a nominal fee. However, even if you don’t have UM coverage, you still could be able to file a claim with the help of an accident attorney in Georgia. Don’t miss out on your chance for compensation; get the legal help you need today. 

    Contacting an Accident Attorney in Georgia

    If you are the victim of someone else’s negligence or carelessness, whether in a traffic accident or some other type of accident, you have certain rights guaranteed by law. To help you understand these rights and seek the compensation you may be eligible for to help get your life back in order, contact the Atlanta Law Offices of Sheryl L. Burke for a no-cost consultation on your injury case – 1-404-842-7838.

  • I was driving a company car when I was injured in a crash. Who covers my medical bills?

    If you are injured in a car accidentwhile driving a company car, you may wonder who will be responsible for paying your medical bills and Georgia personal injury claim. The answer to this question is dependent on several different factors, including: 

    • If the car is insured, the insurance company your employer has chosen to cover the car will pay for the damages. If the

      employee driving is found to be at fault for the car accident, the employee may be required to reimburse the company for the cost incurred. 
    • Depending on how the employee was using the car at the time of the accident, the employer may be responsible for paying the damages. 
    • If the employee was acting within the scope of his or her job description when the accident took place, then an employer cannot force the employee to pay for the damages. 

    To determine who is fault in a Georgia personal injury claim involving a company vehicle, the police and/or court will take into account the evidence presented by an Atlanta injury attorney like Sheryl Burke, including the police report, photos and video, eyewitness accounts, and medical records. 

    Having access to a company car can be a privilege, but it also means that you must pay special attention and care when driving on the job to avoid being stuck with the costs of repairs and medical treatment. Call Sheryl Burke, an Atlanta injury attorney, if you are involved in an accident that left you hurt at work and are unsure about what steps to take next. 

    Contacting an Atlanta Injury Attorney

    If you are the victim of someone else’s negligence or carelessness, whether in a traffic accident or some other type of accident, you have certain rights guaranteed by law. To help you understand these rights and seek the compensation you may be eligible for to help get your life back in order, contact the Atlanta Law Offices of Sheryl L. Burke for a no-cost consultation on your injury case – 1-404-842-7838.

  • What are Georgia's auto insurance minimums?

    Georgia requires all drivers in a household to be covered by liability insurance and have proof of insurance in the vehicle with them at all times.

    Georgia allows certain exemptions:
    - the vehicle's lease has terminated
    - the vehicle is inoperable, stolen or repossessed
    - the vehicle was wrecked, salvaged or junked
    - its only used for seasonal or agricultural purposes
    - ownership was transferred out of state or the owner moved

    Georgia Minimum Liability Coverage:
    - bodily injury for one person: $25,000
    - bodily injury for all injuries: $50,000
    - property damage: $25,000

    Contact a Georgia attorney to learn more about your insurance options if you or someone you know have been injured in an automobile accident.

  • Do I have to pay back my insurance company for paying my medical bills after an accident?

    If you have been in an accident, the answer to whether you would have to reimburse your health insurance company for your medical bills is, it depends.

    In short, if your insurance company is regulated under Georgia law, chances are, you will usually not have to pay back your medical bills. If your health plan is regulated under federal law, you may be required to use your claim to reimburse payments made by your insurer. 

    Georgia-Regulated Insurance Plans

    Under the state's Reimbursement Statue that dates to 1997, the only time a Georgia-regulated health insurance company can request reimbursement for medical expenses is if the person was already fully compensated for injuries from a liable party. This statute is based on whether or not you as the accident victim were "made whole" by your compensation. Your Atlanta personal injury lawyer can explain how this may affect your claim.

    Federally Regulated Insurance Plans

    In the case of federally regulated health insurance plans, such as a self-funded ERISA plan, Medicare, or Medicaid, you may be required to pay the insurance company for your medical bills. The only consolation is federally regulated programs can reduce, or even release your medical bills.

    What an Atlanta Personal Injury Lawyer Can Do To Help Your Claim

    If you've been in a car accident, you may want to at least consult with an Atlanta personal injury lawyer to discuss the possibility of a Georgia personal injury claim. In addition to seeking damages to address your medical expenses, an Atlanta personal injury lawyer may also be able to seek compensation for lost wages and non-monetary damages, such as pain and suffering.

    Contacting an Atlanta Personal Injury Lawyer

    If you are the victim of someone else's negligence or carelessness, whether in a traffic accident or some other type of accident, you have certain rights guaranteed by law. To help you understand these rights and seek the compensation you may be eligible for to help get your life back in order, contact the Atlanta Law Offices of Sheryl L. Burke for a no-cost consultation on your injury case.