Generally, the state imposes insurance minimums that may play a role in the amount of money you can recover through automobile insurance. Those minimums can range from $25,000 to $50,000, but your case might fall significantly below or above that range. The best way to discover the full amount of your recovery is to speak to a distracted driving lawyer near you as soon as possible after your accident.
If you were involved in a car accident and the other driver was at fault, you can be left with serious injuries, the loss of your own car, and an inability to return to work and continue to support yourself and your family. All these circumstances can leave you frustrated and upset.
Bills due to your injuries might also leave you in a financial crunch, which will naturally make you wonder how much you can sue for in a texting and driving accident case in Georgia. Of course, no two car accidents are exactly alike, which means each will have its own set of related expenses. A lawyer can valuate your damages and help you file a claim to pursue damages from the liable party.
Georgia’s Minimum Insurance Requirements Can Influence Your Compensation
When responsible drivers purchase auto insurance, they often look for the most affordable option for their particular budget. Even affordable insurance in Georgia comes with financial coverage minimums that help make sure a driver’s insurance policy will cover the cost of injuries and repairs to other drivers. In Georgia, automobile insurance liability minimums include:
- Bodily injury liability of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per occurrence
- Property damage liability of $25,000 per occurrence
Some drivers may purchase additional insurance over and above the state’s minimum requirements to ensure they are covered in any circumstance. Drivers can purchase collision insurance to cover the cost of damage to another driver’s vehicle. Drivers may also purchase comprehensive insurance to cover any type of vehicle damage, including weather-related damage or scratches and key marks.
Damages You Can Sue for in a Texting and Driving Accident Case in Georgia
If you or a family member was injured or if your car or other property was damaged or destroyed in a car accident, the at-fault driver and their insurance carrier may be liable for your actual damages. Actual damages are sometimes referred to as compensatory damages and may include:
- Income you lost by not being able to return to work
- Accident-related medical bills
- The cost of repairing or replacing your own vehicle
- The cost of necessary medical equipment
In some instances, you may also be able to recover the cost of emotional distress related to your car accident.
Additional Damages You May Be Able to Recover
When you are ready to hold the at-fault driver in your accident responsible for his actions, you will want to understand your options. While replacing your vehicle and paying your medical bills is a good place to start, you may also want to be fairly compensated for your pain and suffering.
In some cases, the court might award a plaintiff an extra amount of financial recovery to punish the wrongdoer for behavior the court deems particularly dangerous or reckless. Called punitive damages, this type of award usually requires proof of the at-fault driver’s seriously neglectful actions.
Texting While Driving Laws in Georgia
Distracted driving in Georgia includes texting while operating your car. It also includes talking on a cell phone; holding the phone in your hand whether it is in use or not; and reading emails, text messages, or checking social media.
The penalties for this type of reckless behavior are serious because Georgia is committed to keeping its citizens safe. Penalties and fines for texting and driving in Georgia include:
- A maximum fine of $50 for a first occurrence
- A maximum fine of $100 for a second occurrence within two years
- A maximum fine of $150 for a third occurrence within two years
If the driver who hit you was texting at the time of the accident, they may face these fines in a courtroom. Additionally, you may be eligible to sue the at-fault party, which will also hold them financially accountable for their actions.
Get Help When You Sue for a Texting and Driving Accident Case in Georgia
Depending on the circumstances of your case, you may have the basis for a lawsuit that allows you to sue the other driver in a texting and driving accident case in Georgia. Get the help you need to file a successful lawsuit by calling S. Burke Law at (404) 842-7838 today.