Seat belt requirements for children in Georgia are stricter than those for adults because many children do not know the value of wearing a seat belt and elect not to wear one. Young children may not be able to use a seat belt on their own, leaving it up to the discretion of their parent or caretaker to help.

It is the responsibility of the driver of a passenger vehicle to make sure that all minor passengers are properly restrained, no matter where they are seated in the vehicle. Children between the ages of 6 and 17 must wear a proper seat belt in all seating positions at all times. A $25 fine may be assessed for each child found unrestrained in the vehicle.

Children age 6 and younger must be restrained in a proper child safety seat or with a special child safety belt appropriate for their age and weight.
The guidelines on the packaging of child safety devices will help you determine the proper equipment for your child's age and weight. A $50 fine will be assessed for each child under 6 found unrestrained in the vehicle, as well as one point assessed on the driver's license.

If you have a prior citation for improper child restraint use, the penalties increase to a $100 fine and 2 points assessed on your driver's license. There is also the potential for charges of child endangerment if you are involved in an accident.

Adults are also governed by Georgia seat belt laws. Seat belt laws are in place for your safety and it's best to follow them at all times to prevent injury in the event of an accident. 

Contacting an Atlanta Personal Injury Lawyer

If you are the victim of someone else's negligence or carelessness, whether in a traffic accident or some other type of accident, you have certain rights guaranteed by law. To help you understand these rights and seek the compensation you may be eligible for to help get your life back in order, contact the Atlanta Law Offices of Sheryl L. Burke for a no-cost consultation on your injury case.

Sheryl L. Burke
Connect with me
Atlanta Injury Attorney
Post A Comment