If you own a vehicle in Georgia, you'll have to purchase car insurance before climbing behind the wheel. If you fail to meet Georgia car insurance requirements, you're actually breaking the law, and can face penalties as long as not having the protection you need in the event of an accident.  

Overview of Minimum Georgia Car Insurance Requirements

Every state has different minimum insurance requirements and Georgia is no exception.

The minimum Georgia car insurance requirements include:

  • $25,000 (per person, bodily injury);
  • $50,000 (per accident, bodily injury for 2 or more people); and
  • $25,000 (per accident, property damage).  

Uninsured Motorists and Georgia Car Insurance Requirements

Whenever you're on the roadway, there's always the chance you may get into a Georgia car accident with an uninsured motorist. While Georgia car insurance requirements do not mandate that you get uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist coverage (UN/UIM) or personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, motorists do have the option to purchase it. 

Some Georgia drivers purchase UN/UIM and PIP coverage for added protection, since in Georgia the driver at fault for the accident can be held liable for all damage. This means that if you're in an accident with an uninsured motorist who was completely at fault, and if you had UN/UIM, you could make a claim on your own policy without being penalized.

How Georgia Car Insurance Requirements can Affect Your Accident Claim

car insurance requirements do not require UN/UIM or PIP coverage because the state follows a tort system. This means that Georgia car accident claims and lawsuits can commonly result after an accident, whether you want to file a claim against your insurer for underestimating your claim, or against the at-fault party's insurance company.

If you've been in a car accident in Georgia, you do have the right to file a claim against the person at fault (or their insurance company) to cover losses their policy alone may not address, such as lost wages, medical expenses and pain and suffering.

When it comes to Georgia insurance requirements and how you could be impacted in the event of an accident, speak with an Atlanta car accident lawyer. An Atlanta car accident lawyer can help you negotiate with the insurance companies involved and defend your best interests throughout the claims process.

Continue to Next Page >>