Georgia is the 22nd most expensive state in the country when it comes to car insurance coverage. As of 2006, Georgia car insurance requirements equaled to $788 for an annual insurance premium. By comparison, national averages top out around $817. Even though Georgia car insurance requirements are not the most expensive in the country, there are some people who still don't pay for coverage.
Failure to Meet Georgia Car Insurance Requirements
If you own a car and have failed to meet minimum Georgia car insurance requirements, the consequences can be drastic.
If there has been a lapse in your ability to meet Georgia car insurance requirements, the following may happen:
- your insurance provider will send a letter to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with a notice of the lapse in coverage;
- you will receive a letter from the DMV requesting proof of new insurance or payment of a $25 lapse fee; and
- your license will be instantly suspended.
While you can get your license back by paying for a 6-month car insurance premium in full, future violations will result in steeper measures. A third offense will result in a $160 fine, misdemeanor charge and suspended registration.
Exemptions to Georgia Car Insurance Requirements
There are other situations in which car owners may be excused from carrying minimum Georgia car insurance requirements.
Such scenarios include when:
- the vehicle has been stolen, inoperable or repossessed;
- the vehicle has been sold;
- the vehicle has been stored and used only for farming purposes; and
- the vehicle lease has ended.
Special Scenarios with Georgia Car Insurance Requirements
There are other Georgia car insurance requirements that are not as commonly discussed. For instance, if you're renting a car in Georgia, you'll need to make sure your insurance policy either covers the state's minimum standards or that the rental company provides it (usually for a daily fee of up to $14). This is part of the state's minimum insurance requirements.
Another special caveat of Georgia car insurance requirements addresses drivers who are not allowed to drive on your policy. This means that if an "excluded" driver in your household is driving the vehicle, and gets in an accident, your coverage will not be valid.
All these exceptions mean that is it very possible that you may be in an accident with an uninsured or underinsured driver. To help protect you and your family in the event of a Georgia car accident, you may want to strongly consider purchasing underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage and other forms of PIP protection or collision coverage.
Georgia car insurance requirements can be quite involved, and can directly impact you if you are in a car accident. If you want to be sure of your rights in case of a Georgia car accident, contact an Atlanta car accident lawyer who can look over both your car insurance and that of the other party to determine all of your legal options.
Contacting an Atlanta Car Accident Lawyer
If you are the victim of someone else's negligence or carelessness, whether in a traffic accident or some other type of accident, you have certain rights guaranteed by law. To help you understand these rights and seek the compensation you may be eligible for to help get your life back in order, contact the Atlanta Law Offices of Sheryl L. Burke for a no-cost consultation on your injury case.